CEO's Update 24/6/20

By NZISM Secretary


Kia ora koutou members and supporters...The end of this month will complete the grace period for NZISM membership renewals. This means only those who have renewed for 2020 will be able to access the bank of resources we have accumulated and the upcoming online Masterclass Workshop Series with Nippin Anand.

We have been contacted by several international health and safety professionals who are keen to sign up for the Nippin series; they realise the amazing opportunity we are giving our members and they want in. This is why we have decided to provide public tickets for this event but priced alongside our annual membership cost. We are currently exploring other opportunities to provide similar online series focused on the topics you have asked for in previous annual surveys. We are excited about the next few months and what we are providing our members. We are delivering incredible value and CPD opportunities unmatched in the health and safety industry in NZ.

We regularly review operations, looking for improvements and efficiencies, and this month we reviewed our committee structure. Because of the administrative support the national office provides we are now able to take on work that has historically been run by our amazing volunteer network. This has resulted in the Mentoring and CPD Committees being wound down and their tasks being managed within the national office team.

Phil Lewis-Farrell has overseen the Mentoring Programme at NZISM for 9 years. She established the process, the documents and has taken on an enormous workload to develop and grow this popular member benefit. We will be forever grateful for her substantial contribution. In recent years Phil has been supported by Pat Copp in a deputy role, and by Rob Carroll and Fiona Carney in the committee structure. Together, they have worked exceptionally hard to ensure this benefit is available for those who need it. If you want to participate in the Mentoring programme either as a Mentor or a Mentee, please get in contact with Sara on

The CPD Committee has been Chaired by Robyn Bennett, and includes Ravi Kolluru, Mathew Sadgrove, Nick Engelmann and Desai Link. The CPD committee has been responsible for delivering such fabulous roadshows as Todd Conklin, The Art of Work and Chris Peace’s roadshow on ISO45001. This team had a big role to play in the success of these roadshows and we are humbled by the commitment they have shown to their profession and NZISM.

I want to thank these teams for their incredible contribution, we are so appreciative of their efforts and their leadership. I am constantly impressed by the commitment of our members; our volunteers are the unsung heroes of our community. It is because of their support and engagement that we can provide members with a fantastic experience.

I also want to thank our national office team, whose efficient and effective management has enabled us to take on more work, freeing up the volunteer network to focus on projects rather than administrative committee tasks. Thank you, Sara, Tanya and Mari, for the wonderful work you do to support our members.

On behalf of our members, thank you to all those who volunteer at NZISM.

Ngā mihi,